PermaCycle

Rolling a tread between People and Permaculture

My Parents Don’t Care

6 Comments

By Jasmine Wilborne

I know. Not a surprise.  So much for freaking out.

My mom straight up told me “I think you are still in kid mode. You aren’t a kid anymore.” She went on to say that as an adult  they would offer advice and it was up to me to do what I wanted.

Whew. The truth was out.

But so anti-climatic.

I told Seth about the conversation. I wish it was more epic, but not every parent conversation ends in screaming and self-righteousness.

I guess this trip is me really stepping into adulthood.

Or…stepping in the direction of creating my own life apart from the societal expectations that rest like a choke chain around my neck.

Stay eco-groovey.

Author: zestyjazz

I'm a garden and a bicycle.

6 thoughts on “My Parents Don’t Care

  1. One thing about “adult-hood” is that people take it way too seriously….I know I did, and still do at times. I think it’s a rare thing to remain in kid mode, not in a “waste my entire life” kind of way, but in an ‘I don’t care’ kind of mentality, where you refuse to follow the pack 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know what you mean. Our souls (those elusive innards that make us conscious “in our heads”) are timeless. But our bodies are finite. I want to really get away from the world I live in where I go to work and come home to be crabby and separate from those that I love dearly. Is it too much to ask to be in true, real community with those around me? To change the world of relationships by paving the way? I want this. If I don’t do it now, I won’t have the courage later.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The trip is stepping into adulthood by helping you plan something for real that requires some resources and how to use them efficiently.

    Like

    • Thank you Jean 🙂 I think so too. I’m sure my parents are worried and my grandfather has voiced concerns, but I refuse to turn back! My future depends on this trip. I’m a scaredy cat inside…really! I appreciate your support and comments. Stay eco-groovey!

      Like

  3. No reason to step into adulthood at all in my book. I am 32 with two children and am still very much a dreamer. I may be doing my best to bring my dreams to life, but I keep dreaming anyways. Keeping that childhood spirit from being crushed by “adulthood” is an amazing way to really live life to the fullest. Nothing wrong with being responsible and supporting a family, but no reason to give up your childhood glow!

    Like

Leave a Reply

