PermaCycle

Rolling a tread between People and Permaculture

I’ve Been Baking My Ass off this Winter!

Leave a comment

By: Jasmine Wilborne

Last Christmas season (or advent for the Catholics out there) I was the ultimate scrooge. Christmas did not feel special to me. I felt like I was being swallowed by the grey monotony of working a non-essential spiritually numbing 9-5 for-profit job. Despite it being the first year I spent as an atheist, I did not feel liberated from the obligatory gift buying and generic “Happy Holidays” sayings. Christmas had no shimmer of seasonal magic.

This year is completely different. My inner Cheermister (Yes, How the Grinch Stole Christmas is one of my “must sees” for the season!) has been expressing itself physically and also spiritually.

For Thanksgiving I made my first-est ever APPLE TART! Yes, I am screaming. Seth would attest that being on the receiving end of my excitement is overwhelming and sometimes tiresome itself.  Every aspect of this tart is handmade! It took 4 hours. I got the recipe from a magazine in a natural food store—-well kinda.

Yummy tart!

Yummy tart!

I made 3 batches of tasty banana bread. I made one batch specifically as birthday cupcakes for a friend of ours. The banana’s courtesy of Trader Joe’s dumpster!

I made pumpkin bread with my little sister, nicknamed “Crunchie”. Our ultimate goal was to cream cheese filled cupcakes, but the muffins stuck to the bottom of the pan..well everything did and I was downtrodden. But I got over it and squeezed the creamy icing on the pumpkin loaf and on the cupcakes as well. Yum.

My last exciting endeavor was to make snacks and treats for my family and friends.

Here is what I made:

Rice Crispy treats

I tried to "drizzle chocolate", but I'm not so fancy so I smeared that shit up there!

I tried to “drizzle chocolate”, but I’m not so fancy so I smeared that shit up there!

Chocolate “turtles”

Oh yeah, these babies are hot. Simply take a mini pretzel, a mini Rolo and a pecan...then BAM!

Oh yeah, these babies are hot. Simply take a mini pretzel, a mini Rolo and a pecan…then BAM!

Monster Cookies

I've become the cookie goddess with these thangs---oh yeah, you can use the recipe too!

I’ve become the cookie goddess with these thangs—oh yeah, you can use the recipe too!

Both Seth and my friends, Jen and her boyfriend Jon aka JenJon (I coined the term: JenJon to signify etymologically there inseparable nature) loved them! Yay!

So yeah, those are a bit of my indulgences this winter. What are yours?

 

 

Author: zestyjazz

I'm a garden and a bicycle.

Leave a Reply

